Mountainbeering visits Portland

IMG_0894

I thought houses like this only existed in San Francsico

Back in April of 2010, I spent the month living in my truck and slowly making my way up the West Coast to Alaska. I didn’t have any specific destinations in mind, so to help narrow things down, I decided to visit beer and bike friendly locations. It was as easy as driving into a city, unloading my bike and pedaling amongst the bars and bike shops. There is no better way to see a city than by bike.

Portland, OR provides the ultimate blend of bike and beer communities. The city abounds with bike lanes, and I could hardly ride a block without wanting to stop for a beer or to check out a bike shop. My very first night there, I had drinks with a group of bike couriers at one bar and then got invited to go along on a bike ride at a second bar. Even though it was amazing, I still nearly suffocated under the weight of stereotypes and clichés surrounding me.

That being said, I would gladly visit again to indulge in the overwhelming culture of bikes and beer permeating out of the very being of the city. Here’s a general overview of pictures from my visit:

Hopworks Urban Brewery (HUB)

Lucky Labrador Brewing Company

Lompoc Brewing

Citybikes Co-op

This entry was posted in Beer, Outdoor fun, The Americas Adventures, Uncategorized, USA Adventures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mountainbeering visits Portland

  1. Pingback: Mountainbeering visits Portland « Little Boss Man's Little Life Lessons

Leave a Reply

